Chicken Tacos

I made these chicken tacos based on a tutorial video from youtube by vlogger DearNaptural85. It was pretty quick and easy so I decided to try it. I made just a few changes to work with the ingredients that I had. They were delicious and pretty healthy too. Not 100% homemade but made with heart and good intentions.

Ingredients:
1 lb ground chicken
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 chopped yellow bell pepper
1 chopped onion
As much spinach as your heart desires
2 teaspoons minced garlic
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon powdered garlic
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/2 cup chunky garden salsa
1/2 packet of low sodium taco seasoning
2 tablespoons taco sauce
1 tomato
shredded cheese
soft corn tortillas

In a large saute pan over medium-high heat, heat the olive oil. Add 1/2 the chopped onion, 1/2 the chopped yellow pepper, and the minced garlic. Cook veggies until they soften up a bit and then add the ground chicken. Flattened it out in the pan like DearNaptural85 did in her video, wait for the chicken to begin sweating a bit then mix it with the vegetable. Then add the oregano, taco seasoning, cayenne pepper and powdered garlic and mix it all together. Break up the chicken with a wooden spoon while cooking. Make sure the chicken cooks thoroughly. When the chicken is cooked through, add the taco sauce and the salsa and as much spinach as you would like. Keep stirring and cooking until the spinach is cooked down and all of the ingredients are coexisting happily. Serve with toasted tortillas and any other toppings that you like. I saved the other halves of the onion and pepper for taco toppings. In addition to that, I had one chopped tomato, guacamole, shredded cheese, and fresh spinach. I recommended heating up the tortillas in a shallow pan on the stove.

Serve and enjoy!

The best part of making tacos is that everyone gets to build their own and add whatever they live. Next time I make these, I would add the mushrooms like in the video and probably use herbs and spices rather than the taco seasoning packet but I wasn’t in my own kitchen so I had to work with what I had. I was pretty upset about not having any cumin. Either way, these were delicious!

Chicken Tacos

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment